Kohlrabi & Apple Slaw w/ Ginger Yogurt Sauce

It’s summertime! The perfect time of the year for BBQ’s and picnics! The time of the year when you crave something light and refreshing. It’s the perfect time to make this kohlrabi and apple slaw.I first discovered kohlrabi last year while I was working as the Campus Kitchen AmeriCorps VISTA at the University of Georgia (CKUGA). As a VISTA, part of my responsibilities was to work with community gardens such as UGArden, a student run farm in Athens GA to make produce more accessible to the seniors I worked with at the Athens Community Council on Aging. But, what I found was that may of the seniors and their families were unfamiliar with some of the vegetables at the garden or they were looking for new, budget friendly and healthy recipes they could re-create at home.

I spent many hours at the garden, researching, and in the kitchen testing out new recipes to ensure that I was providing our seniors with just the right recipes. So when summer came along and we had an abundance of kohlrabi on the farm,(kohlrabi? what is this funny looking vegetable?), I made it a point to learn all about it in order to come up with the perfect recipe to demo for the seniors.

Since it was around Memorial Day week-end (or July 4th…I can’t remember now), I decided to go with a slaw recipe. Coleslaw is one of the staples you find at every BBQ and picnic. It was the perfect dish to recreate! Since making my first kohlrabi slaw recipe last summer, I’ve made various versions of the recipe. Today, I’m sharing an Apple and Mango Kholrabi slaw recipe.

Kohlrabi, a vegetable that resembles a cabbage and a turnip, is crisp with a very mild and delicate flavor. The granny smith apple is also very crisp but has a tart flavor, I think they compliment each other very well. And because I love mangos SO much, they are my favorite fruit, I decided to add them in this recipe! But, I find that it brighten this dish really well and adds some sweetness and added flavor.

I like my slaw to be light and refreshing! No mayonnaise or heavy sauce to weigh it. With that said, I made the perfect ginger yogurt sauce to tie in all the flavors. I LOVE ginger! It’s one of my favorite spices. It’s a little spicy but I also find it to be very cooling. The lemon lighten up the sauce while the agave/honey provides added sweetness. This sauce is perfection!

The ginger yogurt sauce + the shredded mixture = happiness. Talk about perfect summer salad!

Ingredients: For the slaw

  • 2 Kohlrabi, peeled and grated
  • 1 Granny Smith Apples, peeled and grated
  • 1 Mangos, choose a ripe but firm mango, peeled and grated

For the dressing:

  • 1 cup Plain yogurt
  • 1/2 Lemon,  zest and juice
  • Ginger, grated, to taste
  • Agave or honey, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, add the yogurt, agave or honey, grated ginger, lemon zest and lemon juice. Give it a good stir and refrigerate until you are ready to toss the salad.
  2. Onto the slaw, you could julienne these by hand (it will definitely help improve your knife skills) or take an easier route by using a peeler or mandolin. Add  your shredded mixture to a medium bowl. Give it a toss.
  3. Grab the ginger yogurt sauce from the refrigerator and pour it onto your slaw. Re-toss.
  4. You could serve this right away but I recommend refrigerating it for at less 30 minutes. It allows the flavors to marinate and come together! The longer it sits, the better it gets!
  5. Enjoy!
One thought on “Kohlrabi & Apple Slaw w/ Ginger Yogurt Sauce

  1. Pingback: Foodie Fun Finds 8/1: Are you an emotional eater? | Devoted Foodie

Leave a Reply

