Monday Munchies 7/28: Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade

Happy Monday, friends!

Can you believe it’s already Monday? It feels like the week-end just flew by! I guess the saying it true, “time flies when you are having fun”.  On Saturday, I was lucky to spend quality time with my friends– pampering, food (pizza), drinks, lots of laughs and good times!  It was seriously one of the best week-ends I’ve had in a very long time 🙂 The one thing I was bummed about was not getting to go to the pool like we had planned. I was so ready to sit by the water and soak up the sun while enjoying a good magazine and a tall glass of limeade. Tell me that don’t sound amazing.

2014-07-28 17.05.04

 

I seriously couldn’t stop thinking about that limeade. So much so that I just had to go to the store and buy limes. But, I wanted to spice things up a bit. So instead of making plain limeade, I chose to make Mint-ginger infused limeade. Don’t feel intimidated. This recipe is so simple and I am going to walk you through the entire process.

2014-07-28 17.04.02

I start off my making a mint-ginger simple syrup. What is simple syrup? Mint-ginger simple syrup? How do you make it? Don’t worry. I’m getting to that 🙂

A basic simple syrup is just that a syrup. And as the name implies, it is very simple to make. It requires only 2 ingredients: water and sugar in equal amounts. Add these ingredients to a saucepan, bring to a boil, allow the sugar to dissolve completely and allow it to cool. Boom. You’re done! If you are making Mint-Ginger Simple Syrup, you simply add mint and ginger in with the sugar and water. How easy is that?

 2014-07-28 15.57.09

For this particular recipe, I used 2 cups of water and sugar (remember equal amounts), 3 springs of mint (I simply remove the leaves from the steam and thrown them in the pot) and 1-2 inches of smashed ginger (you could also add some of the lime zest). Throw it all in a pot, let it come to boil and stir occasionally. Remove it from the heat and allow the mixture to cool. Stain before using. It yields approximately 1 1/4 cups of syrup.

While the syrup was cooling, I start working on the limeade.

 I grabbed 4 limes and 2 cups of water. Before cutting and juicing my limes, I like to roll my limes back and forth on my kitchen counter I find that it allows me to get the most liquid out of them. Squeeze your lime directly in a pitcher and add the two cups of water. Next, add ½ cup of the cooled mint-ginger simply syrup and give it a good stir. Because you already dissolved your sugar, this process should be fairly easy and quick. This is one of the many reasons why I love making simple syrups for my drinks. The mint-ginger simple syrup will not only sweeten your limeade but it will add flavor. The mint and ginger really compliment each other and the drink as a whole. You know your drinking limeade, it taste like limeade but you get very subtly hints of mint and ginger. It’s very cooling.

We’re almost done, we just have to add a few finishing touches. To the pitcher, add 1-2 lime thinly sliced and a few springs of mint (tear the leaves for more flavor). Not only does it look pretty but, it’s also adding more flavor to your limeade.

2014-07-28 17.04.15

Refrigerate your limeade for 30 minutes (you want it nice and cold) or pour the mixture in chilled glasses over ice. Garnish your glasses with limes slices and mint leaves. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Monday Munchies 7/28: Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade

  1. Pingback: Recipe Remix (aka No Waste Wednesday): Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade + Rum = Best Mojitos Ever! | Devoted Foodie

  2. Pingback: Monday Munchies 8/4: (Water)Melon Salad tossed in Mint-Sugar and Finished with a Splash of Lime Juice | Devoted Foodie

Leave a Reply

