Recipe Remix (aka No Waste Wednesday): Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade + Rum = Best Mojitos Ever!

Happy No Waste Wednesday!

I encourage you to use up all your leftovers by turning them into new dishes. As a result, we waste less food and we get to try new things!

Today I’m making mojitos!! I don’t know about you all but the entire time I was making my Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade, I kept thinking to myself “this would make a great mojito”.  Think about it, all of the key ingredients are already there–mint, sugar, lime. The only thing missing is the rum and sparkling water*.

2014-07-30 16.02.38

Starting with 2 cups of the Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade as the base, I added 1/2 cup  of white rum and 1/2 cup lime sparkling water*. Give it a stir and do a taste check. Make changes if necessary. Personally, I found that the mint flavor was not as strong as I would liked which is understandable, this started off as mint-ginger infused limeade.  So, I added teared up mint leaves to the mixture. I set that in the refrigerate while I worked on garnishing my glasses.

2014-07-28 17.30.58

Mint Sugar

For that, I simply pulsed some sugar and mint leaves and used that to rim my glass. I think it adds a nice touch. Simply add a 2 teaspoons of sugar and 3 leaves of mint in your blender and pulse. So easy. Moisten the rim of your glass, I used lime, and dip the glass in the sugar. If you have time, set your glasses in the freezer to chill before pouring your mojitos.

When I’m ready to serve, I fill up my glass with ice, pour the mojito and serve. Voilà! This recipe makes 2 3/4 cups.

2014-07-30 16.02.05

Not into mojitos? Then, I would take the Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade, pour them in popsicle molds and freeze. Enjoy!

*I personally don’t think the sparkling water was necessary in this recipe. If you really want to use sparkling water, I would suggest using it in place of the water when making the limeade.

Which would you choose, the mojito or popsicle?

How did you use your leftovers this week?

3 thoughts on “Recipe Remix (aka No Waste Wednesday): Mint-Ginger Infused Limeade + Rum = Best Mojitos Ever!

  1. Pingback: Monday Munchies 8/4: (Water)Melon Salad tossed in Mint-Sugar and Finished with a Splash of Lime Juice | Devoted Foodie

Leave a Reply

