Foodie Finds 8/15: Julia Child, Men in the Kitchen & Banana Peels

You guys I finally registered for classes–woohoo! I seriously spent the ENTIRE day trying to sign-up for classes but I kept getting an error message. Thank you to the lovely lady from my college who was willing to help me after hours and resolved the issue!

Here are my fun finds from this week, it another short and sweet edition.

Food

On Julia Child’s Birthday, We Honor Her with French Onion Soup–Inspired Recipes (You’ll See Why) via Huffington Post

You all know how much I LOVE caramelized onions so I totally get it. Can’t wait to try some of these recipes!

Image Taking From Google

Image Taking From Google

 

Lifestyle

Cooking–Not Just Therapy for Females via The Big Man’s World

As I read Arman’s post something occurred to me–we are more likely to associate home cooking as a woman’s task and being a chef/running a professional kitchen as a man’s job. Why is that? I really want to know what you think so share your thoughts in the comments below.

Meme Found Online

Empowerment

10 Things to Do with Banana Peels via Sustainable America

Good to know! I wish someone would come up with a list like this for watermelon rinds. I eat quite a bit of watermelon this time of year and I feel terrible throwing away the rinds…I use them as serving bowls but I’m still looking for other ways to use them so that they don’t end up in the trash. If you have any ideas please share 🙂

Melon Salad tossed in Mint-Sugar & Finished w/ a Splash of Lime Juice

Melon Salad tossed in Mint-Sugar & Finished w/ a Splash of Lime Juice

What’s your favorite Julia Child recipe or quote?

What are your thoughts on woman running the home kitchen vs man running a professional kitchen? 

How do you use your banana peels and/or watermelon rinds?

And feel free to share anything else that comes to mind!

 

3 thoughts on “Foodie Finds 8/15: Julia Child, Men in the Kitchen & Banana Peels

Leave a Reply

