Pan Fried Plantain topped with Smoked Salmon, Avocado Slices and a sprinkle of Gorgonzola

 

 

 

 

 

 

Happy Wednesday!

Welcome to another edition of Recipe Remix aka No Waste Wednesday! Today I will show you how I use the Avocado Ranch Dressing from Monday in fun and creative ways 🙂

2014-05-19 18.21.59

Do you guys remember these? I original posted them on my Instagram and even on here MONTHS ago! I raved about how delicious they were but I never posted a recipe…that was so wrong of me! I mean how appetizing do those look?!? Why would I torture you all by not posting a recipe to go along with this mouthwatering picture?! I’m sorry!… I am sharing the recipe with you today so that should count for something 🙂

2014-05-19 18.01.42

If I’m being completely honest with you guys, this recipe came about pretty randomly. I wish I could tell you guys that I sat down and really put some effort and thought into this dish but I didn’t. Do you want to know the truth behind this creation? My sister and I were home, STARVING and when we (well when “I”) went to look for something to make all I found were 1-2 green plantains, smoked salmon, very little lettuce, avocado ranch dressing and a few other ingredients. I had to be creative. More importantly I needed to feed myself (and my sister).

2014-05-19 18.18.43

So, I decided that I was going to fry the plantains and go from there. I had no idea I would end up with such an incredible dish. It’s the perfect combination of crunchy, creamy, buttery and salty.

2014-05-19 17.59.15

…I’m getting ahead of myself…plantains…I fried them. This is probably the hardest part about this recipe. From there I simply buttered avocado ranched added a layer of the avocado ranch dressing to the fried plantain, topped with with a few lettuce leaves, added 1/2 slice of smoked salmon, 2-3 slices of avocados and sprinkled it with gorgonzola cheese.  How easy was that?

2014-05-19 18.21.02

Yuuuumm! If I were you, I would serve it as an appetizer at your next social invite. You’re friends and family would be so impressed 🙂

*Devoted Foodie Notes*

How to fry green plantains:

  1. Before you start prepping your plantain, fill a bowl with water and add i some salt. Give it a mix and set it aside.
  2. Using a knife, cut the end of the plantain. Next, make slits along the length of the plantain. Use your hands (your thumb will be doing most of the work here), peel of the sections. If you can’t do this by hand you can use the tip of the knife to help get the process going.
  3. Cut the plantain into 5 equal parts.
  4. In a hot pan or fryer, add a few slices of plantains. The oil should come at least halfway up the side of the plantain.
  5. Once the plantains are nice and golden (about 1-2 minute per side), remove them from the oil.
  6. Using 2 small plates or a plantain press, press down each plantain until they are nice and thin.
  7. Place the pressed plantain in the salted water for a few seconds before transferring it back to the pan or fryer. Be sure that your plantain isn’t soaking wet when you add it to the oil.
  8. Cook until golden brown. Remove from oil and place on a plate lined with paper towel. Add salt if necessary and serve immediately.

*Devoted Foodie Tips*

  1.  Don’t add too plantain slices to the oil at once otherwise the temperature of will drop and won’t get the results you are looking for.
  2. Fried Plantains are not appetizing once cold. I do not recommend making this ahead of time. However, you can prep your plantain up to step 6 and refrigerate/freeze them until you are already to use them.
12 thoughts on “Pan Fried Plantain topped with Smoked Salmon, Avocado Slices and a sprinkle of Gorgonzola

  1. Did you really combine two of my favorite things on earth into one powerful bite?! I am beyond myself. I wish you would invite me over to make dinner so we eat these bad boys, watch some OITNB, and cheers to white wine! Lovely recipe.

Leave a Reply

