Roasted Garlic & Avocado Mashed Potato Balls

Now that I’m back in school and SUPER busy, I am constantly trying to come up with easy meals to prepare. A current favorite of mine are these “Roasted Garlic & Avocado Mashed Potato Balls“. They require only 3 ingredients and involve very little prep 🙂 These mashed potato balls are creamless but you probably wouldn’t have guess it– thank you, avocados! Its creamy consistency makes it a great replacement for butter and milk in most recipes…did I mention this is a healthy, vegan, lactose-intolerant friendly alternative  Annnd it’s DELICIOUS?! Mix in some roasted garlic and it’s total perfection!


2014-08-24 18.07.08

Did I mention you will have very little dishes?! This recipe is looking better and better isn’t it 🙂 I throw a large potato directly on the rack and I let it bake until done. As the potato is baking, I also roast the garlic cloves so that every is ready at the sometime. I then mashed those up with the avocado and roll them into “meatballs”. In hopes of obtaining a slightly crispy exterior and a creamy center I added the balls back in the oven for an extra 10-15 minutes. Unfortunately, they didn’t crisp up but it’s okay because they still tasted AH-MAY-ZING!

2014-08-24 18.10.53

Ingredients:

  • 1 large potato
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 1/2 avocado
  • olive oil to roast the garlic
  • salt and pepper to taste

Direction:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 degree.
  2. Thoroughly scrub your potato before placing it directly on the oven rack. Cook until tender (approximately 45 minutes).
  3. In a small bowl, drizzle peeled garlic cloves with olive oil and place in the oven with potatoes.
  4. In a bowl or plate mash the potato with 4 garlic cloves and 1/2 of an avocado. Roll until balls…I was able to get 6 meatballs from this recipe.

2014-08-24 18.04.22

 

Devoted Foodie Notes & Tips:

  1. To ensure potatoes are cooked through, I like to poke it with a fork to see if it goes in easily. If it feels hard then leave it in a little longer.
  2. You could also cook your potatoes in the microwave if you wanted but, if you are going to roast garlic then I think it’s easier to just do it all in the oven.
  3. You don’t have to peel your garlic clove before roasting…I just had peeled garlic on hand that I wanted to use up. An easier method is to actually keep the head of garlic intact, cut off the top (just enough to expose the garlic cloves) and place it you your baking dish before drizzling it with olive oil. You will have plenty of leftover roasted garlic cloves but if you’re a garlic lover like me that’s a good thing 🙂 I love incorporating them in my recipes throughout the week.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic & Avocado Mashed Potato Balls

Leave a Reply

