WIAW…Savory Oatmeal

Welcome to another edition of “No Waste Wednesday“! Today, I’m shaking things up a bit by linking to Peas ” What I Ate Wednesday” because I think everyone needs to get on this Savory Oatmeal bandwagon!

2014-08-27 13.53.36

Corn, Tomato and  Avocado Salad Oatmeal


Oatmeal is one of those foods that everyone considers to be healthy; it’s also most people’s breakfast of choice. I am not here to argue against either of these statements but I will encourage you to be open-minded. Oatmeal is not just a breakfast option and it’s definitely not just a sweet treat. I’m telling you, savory oatmeal is the way to go! I know this is a foreign concept and will take some getting use to so I’ll be patient. I actually came prepared so keep reading if your still not 100% convinced!

2014-08-20 11.33.36

Sautéed Onions, Mushroom and Tomato Oatmeal topped with Avocados

How many of you struggle to get in your daily vegetable intake? Don’t lie…It can be a challenge but it doesn’t always have to be. If you are dead set on eating oatmeal for breakfast, try have it savory (even if it’s just once a week) and throw in some vegetable in there! Savory oatmeal is a great way to sneak vegetables into your diet.

2014-08-21 19.41.28

Eggplant & Summer Squash Oatmeal

How many of you juice?–I do! I know there’s a lot of controversy about juicing but, what I love  the most about juicing is that I am able to get the nutrient from those vegetables that I don’t like/want to eat. Personally I find it much easier to drink some veggies. But, then there’s all that pulp…what do you do with that? I am all for reducing #foodwaste so I will save the pulp and use it in recipes throughout the week. This week, I used the scrapes some my carrot juice and my leftover roasted garlic & avocado mashed potato balls to make the oatmeal dish below.

2014-08-27 13.36.54

Broccoli, Carrot and Roasted Garlic Avocado Mashed Potato Oatmeal

Ingredients:

Directions:

  1. In an oiled saucepan, quickly heat through your carrot and broccoli. Season lightly with salt and pepper.
  2. Add your vegetable broth and allow it to come to a boil. Stir in your oats.
  3. Reduce the heat and add in the mashed potato balls. Give it a stir.
  4. Add more vegetable broth or water if you find your oatmeal to be too thick. Adjust seasoning as well.

Enjoy!

Would/Have you ever try savory oatmeal?

What are some of your favorite oatmeal toppings? 

10 thoughts on “WIAW…Savory Oatmeal

  1. Even though I have heard of savory oatmeal, I’ve never really tried it and I don’t know why! I mean, it’s a grain just like farro or barley! I’m going to make a point of trying oatmeal in a savory way now! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. I love the concept of savory oatmeal but have yet to try it. I don’t have a sweet tooth so even my breakfasts are usually savory egg muffins or sometimes even dinner leftovers. I’m convinced to try some of your recipes!

Leave a Reply

