Spaghetti Squash topped with Marinera Sauce and Sautéed Broccoli, Mushroom and Onions

Since I’ve started school again, I’ve been trying to get into meal planning and meal prepping. This was to help me make better choices during the week since I have such a crazy schedule. Do you know I have classes from 9:30-7:40 on Tuesdays?!? Okay, I have a few breaks in between…but still, it’s not enough time for me to go home or anything. I try not to get to crazy with the meal planning though. I usual have an idea of what I want to eat that week but until I browse the grocery store and farmers market nothing is set in stone. Take last week for instance, I had no intention of making spaghetti squash but I went to the Farmers Market and they had the most beautiful squashes—I just couldn’t resist!

Whether you are looking to lose weight, maintain your weight or enjoy a hearty meal, this dish is for you! Spaghetti Squash topped with Marinara Sauce and Sautéed Broccoli, Mushroom and Onions. 

2014-08-24 19.08.15

Spaghetti squash is becoming the new spaghetti and I can see why! It’s super filling but low in calorie. This is in part due to its high water content, all it’s nutrients and the fiber. But, what I love the most about spaghetti squash is that it is versatile and doesn’t require much effort. Win-Win! You could simply bake it and eat it on it own, with pasta sauce, with your favorite vegetables or a combination of the two. The possibilities are endless!

2014-08-24 18.39.53

Ingredients

  • Spaghetti squash*
  • 1 1/2 cup of broccoli, chopped
  • 1 cup mushroom, chopped
  • 1/2 cup onion, diced
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • cheese for garnishing (optional)

For the Sauce

  • 1 cup marinara sauce
  • 2 cloves of roasted garlic, mashed
  • 1-2 sprigs of fresh parsley, chopped

Directions

  1. Start by pre-heating your oven to 450 degree.
  2. Now, this is the tricky part and you definitely want to use a sharp knife for this. Cut the squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Brush the insides with olive oil and bake for 45 minutes or until tender.
  3. Remove from the oven and let it cool.
  4. In the meantime, in an oiled pan, sautée your broccoli, mushroom and onions. I like it when my vegetables still have a bit to them so I only cook them for 3-5minutes.
  5. In another pan, heat the marinara sauce with the roasted garlic and parsley.
  6. When the squash is cool enough to handle, use or fork or a spoon to scrape the spaghetti strands from the squash.
  7. Layer the vegetables and sauce directly on the spaghetti squash like I have above or combine the spaghetti squash, marina sauce and the cooked vegetables in one pan, give it a toss and plate.

Enjoy!

2014-08-24 19.07.30

* I bought a 3 pound squash and only used half for this specific recipe. I am actually using the other half on Wesnesday’s “No Waste Wednesday” post so be sure to come back 🙂

Halving a squash can be a workout… What are some tips or tricks you found to be helpful?

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash topped with Marinera Sauce and Sautéed Broccoli, Mushroom and Onions

  1. I’m all over the meal prep… it’s the only way I can keep up with my schedule too! Spaghetti squash is one of my favorite in the winter. I have a couple of spaghetti pie recipes I did with it. So versatile!

Leave a Reply

