Open-Face Stuffed Portobello Mushroom (Wrap)

Happy “No Waste Wednesday“!

Every Wednesdays I create a new dish using the ingredients from Monday in hopes that you guys don’t get tired of leftovers, forget about them or worst throw them out! 

2014-09-10 10.36.34

My Open-Face Stuffed Portobello (Wrap) is inspired by this Pulled Pesto Chicken Burger and The Hartwich. I have mushroom burgers all the time but it never occurred to me that I could use the mushrooms as “buns” until I saw Chanie’s burger. I LOVED that idea! I made a mental note of this and told myself I would recreate her dish. A week 0r two later, I came across Hannah Hart’s video with Jamie Oliver. I loved that she used wrapped her “Hartwich” with lettuce. I knew that would work well with the dish I envisioned.

Fast-forward to one month later and I finally get around to creating this juicy, mouthwatering and flavorful Open-Face Stuffed Portobello that I had dreamed of. Why did I wait so long to make this? This is hands down one of my favorite “No Waste Wednesday” recipes! It builds on so many flavors, it’s colorful (you guys know how much I love pretty food) and best of all, it takes no effort! Serious. It’s amazing what you can come up with just a little bit of inspiration and a fridge full of leftovers 🙂

2014-09-10 10.20.45

I start off by baking portobello mushrooms that I have drizzled with olive oil and seasoned with salt in a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes. Some may find the stems fibrous in which case they may choose to remove them, chopped them up or use them in stocks–it’s totally up you. Same goes with the gills. They can leak and stain the rest of your dish therefore some people like to remove them but you don’t have to.

2014-09-10 19.24.17

While the mushroom is cooking I continue to prep the other ingredients. If you remember from Monday’s post, Spaghetti Squash topped with Marinara Sauce and Sautéed Broccoli, Mushroom and Onions, I roasted this 3 pound spaghetti squash I got from the Farmers Market but I had only used half. I am going to heat up and use the other half in today’s stuffed portobello dish. I also have some leftover lentil, sweet potato noodles and, sautéed asparagus, mushroom and red onions that I will heat up and incorporate in the dish. You can whatever you have on hand and feel free to substitute any of the items listed here. Have fun with it!

2014-09-10 10.34.50

Once the mushrooms are cooked and everything is heated start assembling! This is probably my favorite part 😀 I love taking the time to plate my food and make it look pretty–we eat with our eyes first. I did two variations. Above, I started with a layer of sweet potato, followed by a layer of spaghetti squash and finally, I topped that with the sautéed asparagus, baby bella mushroom and red onions. Below, I added a layer of lentils followed with a layer of squash and topped that off with the sautéed asparagus mixture.

2014-09-10 10.35.53

The reason I use different vegetables on each is because 1) I had a lot of leftover veggies I wanted to use up 2) I want to give you and my tast-tester sister options and, 3) I wanted to show and stress to you how easy it is to customize this “recipe”.  They are so versatile!

2014-09-10 10.37.18

 

You could add another mushroom “bun” if you really wanted to (that was my original plan) but, I personally like the way this looks–it’s so pretty and I can admire all the vibrant colors. Also, I find that the stuffed mushrooms are very filling already so another “bun” would have been too much. That’s just my opinion. One last thing, I promise. These Open-Face Stuffed Portobello are great the way they are but, if you wanted more of a crunch or if you wanted to eat these by hand, then the lettuce is a great idea. You end up with a delicious Open-Face Stuffed Portobello Wrap. 

2014-09-10 10.43.13

 

Simply fold the lettuce around the mushroom and enjoy!

What would you include in your stuffed mushroom?

If you are on Twitter or Instagram, tag me in your post and use the hashtag #devotedfoodie. I want to hear from you and see how you use your leftovers/your take of this recipe 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Open-Face Stuffed Portobello Mushroom (Wrap)

  1. I just took a double take and think your brilliant for adding spaghetti squash to utilize that bad boy in more than one recipe! Your not helping my pre lunch hunger…just sayin’! 😉

  2. Hi Nathalie! Just discovered your lovely blog tonight 😉 These mushroom sandwiches look so good! I’m glad I found you…and I’ll be eager to see more of your delicious posts!

Leave a Reply

