Life Update: Balancing School and Work

2014-10-10 11.07.56 copy

Happy Monday!

I’m sure you all are pretty tired of me disappear for a week, coming back and disappearing again. I’m working on it! So, I decided to switch things up and give you a quick life update to explain myself.

As some of you may already know, I started grad school in August. I am currently pursue a Master’s of Public Health at the University of Georgia–#GoDawgs! As an undergrad I doubled majored in Dietetics and Consumer Foods and while I loved my majors, I knew early on I didn’t want to work in a clinical setting. I had a very different view on food and nutrition. I graduated with a degree in Culinary Arts and I most of my experience had been in the food industry; I love food, I love being creative with food and that’s what I wanted to share with others. So, after talking to some of my professors and volunteering with different programs like EFNEP, School Nutrition and Campus Kitchen, I realized that community/public health nutrition was the way to go.

What I wasn’t sure was the concentration I wanted to study within public health. I struggled between Health Promotion and Gerontology. Health Promotion probably seemed like the most logical choice but, I had spent the past year and half working with older adults and food issues, and I loved it! I am interested in food issues, and program development surrounding these issues but, I’m also very interested in intergenerational relationship. It was a very tough decision but I chose gerontology. We’re now in October and I still doubt myself :/ I enjoy my gerontology courses but I‘m constantly thinking about Health Promotion…

While I was stressing about school I also started a new job. I coordinate a youth program where I work with high school students and teach them agricultural and entrepreneurial skills they can take with them once they leave the program. I love my job! I have awesome co-workers and some of the best students but going from just being a full-time student to being a full-time student and having a part-time job is stressful. I no longer have as much free time and, balancing work and school (and blogging) is not an easy task. But, I’m slowing getting the hang of things.

As of last week, I decided that I wanted to pursue a dual concentration in Gerontology and Health Promotion. And the best part is that I can still finish my program in 2 years—woohoo! It’s not official yet, I have to wait until next semester to add my second concentration. Regardless, I’m thrilled to know this is something I can do and I no longer have to stress about picking one concentration over the other.

So yeah…that’s what’s been going on. Now that I’m slowly getting the hang of balancing work and school, I can hopefully get back to posting regularly.

Hope you guys enjoyed this post…I’ll see you on Wednesday with a new “No Waste Wednesday” post that involves these Cinnamon and Ginger Baked Apple Slices 🙂

2014-10-13 22.03.26

Cheers to a Marvelous Monday!

What’s been going on with you lately?

How do you balance work and/or school and everything else?

4 thoughts on “Life Update: Balancing School and Work

Leave a Reply

