No Waste Wednesday: Okra 2-ways

Happy “No Waste Wednesday”,

I repurpose ingredients and leftovers to create new recipes that are just as delicious in hopes that: 1) you don’t get tired of eating the same dish all week long, or forget about them in the back of the fridge 2) you don’t waste/throw out your food

Okra and Onions

We all have that one traumatic food experience that has scarred us for life. Mine is okra. I came home from elementary school one day and my grandmother had prepared stewed beef and okra. It looked delicious but nothing could have prepared me for that slimy texture. It. Was. Horrible.

Since then I’ve been so fixated on the texture that I’ve never been able to appreciate the flavor. But, now that I’m more into food and nutrition, I make an effort to try the foods I hated growing up. I’ve kept things simple. Like I said, texture is my biggest challenge here.

I started by sampling with 2 different store bought okra chips, they passed the initial test–NO SLIM. Woohoo! They kept it simple with the seasoning which I also liked. Simple is good (sometimes).

However, I didn’t like that the okras were dehydrated whole. I just didn’t like the feeling of bitting into a whole okra. Maybe it has something to do with my traumatizing experience. Maybe I’m just weird. I don’t know…

…I decided to make chips of my own. I don’t have a dehydrator and, I didn’t want to fry the okra. I went for a simple oven baked okra recipe using this beautiful okra I bough at my local Farmers Market.

Easy Oven Baked Okra

Bev from BevCooks has a very easy and simple baked okra recipe you can follow. You should check out her instagram, her pictures and captions always put a smile on my face!

Easy Oven Baked Okra

Finally, I made couscous and okra, a dish inspired by mom. She likes to make her dish with rice but since I was all out, I used couscous instead.

Couscous with Okra

 Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Couscous
  • 1 cup Vegetable stock or water
  • Okra, sliced
  • Onions, diced
  • seasoning of choice

Direction:

  1. To an oiled pan add sliced okra and onion. Heat for about 1 minute before adding vegetable stock. Stir occasionally.
  2. Once the stock comes to a boil, turn off heat. Add couscous. Stir and cover for about 5 minutes.
  3. Enjoy!

Devoted Foodie Tips

  1. If you still find it too slimy, you could bring your stock to a boil, turn off the heat and then stir in your couscous and vegetables.
  2. You can add a little or as much vegetables as you want. No specific amount.
  3. Season to taste. I am constantly switching it up. Have fun with it!

Because I know others like me don’t like slimy okra, I’m sharing the love and linking to Peas 🙂

Do you have a horrible food experience?

How do you prepare your okra?

How have you repurposed your leftovers this week?

4 thoughts on “No Waste Wednesday: Okra 2-ways

  1. It looks delicious! ❤ I think it is the same for me, I had horrible experience as a child but once you try it again when you are older, you realize that it is not that bad afterall!

Leave a Reply

