Mulled Wine Soaked Berries and Goat Cheese Filled Pastries

Happy Valentines Day!

I have the perfect treat for those you planning an evening with your significant others, a group of friends or a day alone. I’m talking about these mulled wine soaked berries and goat cheese pastries topped with orange blossom honey and slivered almonds. Yum!

Mulled Wine Soaked Berries and Goat Cheese Filled Pastries | Devoted Foodie

I originally planned on sharing this recipe with you in December but my poor internet connection while in Haiti made it difficult. But I’m glad things worked out the way that they did! It’s February and I’m still enjoying mulled wine!

Made with red wine, spices, citrus fruit and sugar, mulled wine is a warm beverage traditionally served during the winter, but especially during the holidays. I enjoyed my first cup  while visiting my sister in France a few years ago. After standing in the freezing cold for hours, waiting to visit Notre Dame de Paris, my sister and I walked to a small cafe to warm up. That’s when I tried mulled wine. It was AH-MAY-ZING! It’s was as comforting as a warm hug!

View from the top of Notre Dame de Paris | Devoted Foodie

View from the top of Notre Dame de Paris

 

When I came back to the states I made it my mission to re-create the perfect cup of mulled wine. It is so easy to make and, the best part is that you can customize. This is how I personally enjoy my mulled wine:

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of red wine
  • 1 apple, sliced
  • 1 orange, sliced
  • 12 ounces of cranberries
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 3 inches of ginger,
  • 2 cinnamon sticks,
  • 1/4 teaspoon of anise seeds

Direction:

  1. Add all the ingredients in a pot, give it a stir and bring to a simmer.
  2. Strain and, serve warm.

Mulled wined is great on it’s own and if you make it at home, the fragrance will fill your house and warm your soul. I wish I had a fireplace! Only the sound of the crackling fire as I sip on my drink could make my experience that much more enjoyable…

Mulled Wine Soaked Berries and Goat Cheese Filled Pastries | Devoted Foodie

I didn’t think it was possible BUT, I had a brilliant idea that took this recipe to a whole new level! After straining the wine, I pour the mixture back in the pot, added frozen berries and let it come back to a simmer.  As that was cooling, I rolled out some dough and spread a layer of goat cheese. Then, I spooned the mulled wine soaked berries and braided the dough.

Is your mouth watering yet?

I placed the braided dough on a baking sheet and baked it in a 350 degree oven until they were fully cooked. Halfway through the baking time I pulled the baking sheet out, drizzled some orange blossom honey and sprinkled slivered almonds on top.

Enjoy!

 Devoted Foodie Tips–How to braid your dough:

  1. Roll out/Place our dough onto a greased baking sheet
  2. Place your toppings in the center of the dough. Slice inch sections on the sides.
  3. Take one slit and place it diagonally across.Do the same on the opposite side. Keep alternating until you are done.
  4. Close the ends by pressing on folding them gently. Press down leaving the middle in tact

Other tips:

  1. You can customize the recipes to your liking. Some people like their mulled wine a little sweeter or spicier. You can adjust the ingredients and amounts to your linking.
  2. If you don’t like goat cheese, substitute it with something else.
  3. If you don’t want to braid your dough, you can make “pockets”. Press down to seal the filling.
  4. Have fun with it!

How are you celebrating valentines day?

Leave a Reply

