No Waste Wednesday: Caramelized Beets and Carrot Salad

Happy No Waste Wednesday!

I repurpose ingredients and leftovers to create new recipes that are just as delicious in hopes that:1) you don’t get tired of eating the same dish all week long, or forget about them in the back of the fridge 2) you don’t waste/throw out your food

IMG_0305

What have I been craving lately? Beets. Raw, roasted, sautéed it doesn’t matter. I love them all! Their vibrant color, their natural sweetness…Man, I just can’t get enough! Hopefully by the end of this post you’ll feel the same way too.

Caramelized Beets and Carrot Salad

Cooked in coconut oil, these caramelized beets, carrots and radishes are tossed in cinnamon, nutmeg and turmeric with a dash of orange juice. Look at those colors? And, those flavors. Sweet, tangy and oh so delicious. I can’t but feel up”beet” when eating this salad.

Caramelized Beets and Carrot Salad  Cooked in coconut oil, these caramelized beets, carrots and radishes are tossed in cinnamon, nutmeg and turmeric with a dash of orange juice. Look at those colors? And, those flavors. Sweet, tangy and oh so delicious. I can't but feel up"beet" when eating this salad.

I forgot to take a picture of the spiralized beet salad I made so I included this sliced version. Both versions last just as good 🙂

Caramelized Beets and Carrots topped with an Over Easy Egg

Time to turnip the beet. I took the leftover beet salad and served it with an over easy egg. AH.MAY.ZING! The runny yolks paired with the sweet flavors from this salad. I have no words. My heart skipped a beet while eating this. So good!

Egg Over Caramelized Beets and Carrots  Time to turnip the beet. I took the leftover beet salad and served it with an over easy egg. AH.MAY.ZING! The runny yolks paired with the sweet flavors from this salad. I have no words. My heart skipped a beet while eating this. So good!

Caramelized Beet and Farro Salad

Finally, I paired the beet salad with sweet potatoes and farro. The sweetness and the nuttiest of this dish is phenomenal!  Aside from the flavors, my favorite thing about this dish is the amazing colors. I love that the farro absorbs the color of the beets. Look at that pink tone. Beautiful!

IMG_0353

How do you enjoy beets? 

How did you use your leftovers this week?

Follow me on Instagram for daily foodie pics 🙂 #DevotedFoodie

Leave a Reply

